Skip to content

FUN FRIDAY: Need help? Ask me!

September 2, 2011

This clever idea comes from Mrs. Geary at Light a Candle. Her student helpers wear fun visors so that their classmates know just where to go when they have questions during centers, transitions, or anytime the teacher is busy. This is a great way to give some learners a valued job while making it easier for reluctant students to ask for help.

In classrooms across the country, peer-to-peer support is one of the most underused resources in the differentiated classroom. By giving students opportunities to work collaboratively, we can provide communication and social skill practice while naturally providing challenge for some and support for others.

I also wanted to mention here that Mrs. Geary has some great snapshots of her room on the site so if you are still getting set up, check out her organization and classroom storage ideas.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gale Prol permalink
    September 2, 2011 12:22 pm

    I love this idea. It gives teachers and students alike a fun introduction to peer to peer support in a very natural way. It is akin to my experience (back in the day) when I got to take money for milk in the lunch line. I would have liked that ASK ME visor, too. There was a lot of social interaction involved to which I would not have otherwise been exposed.. Although the criteria for getting to be a leader was probably not very inclusive, the help I received from it was enormous. So, all students should get the chance to be a leader/helper in capacities that they might not have the opportunity to choose for themselves by making it just another part of the character of the classroom. “That’s how we do things here.”

  2. September 13, 2011 1:15 am

    Thanks so much for highlighting my idea and blog. I just found yours today. I can’t wait to check out all of your wonderful resources! Differentiation is something that I have always felt I was a “natural” at, but this year I have a class that is on two ends of the spectrum, and it has become even more important! Thanks again!

    Kendra Geary at Light a Candle

  3. September 13, 2011 11:20 pm

    Kendra-
    Thank YOU! We love your site and this idea is just fantastic– we will be visiting again soon to grab more ideas I am sure!

Leave a Reply

