Skip to content

Identity portfolios

March 28, 2011

We have not yet featured portfolios as a technique for differentiating assessment but it is one of the easiest ways to allow different students to demonstrate what they “know and can do”. This one featured on Megan Palevich’s impressive site,  Middle School 101, is sure to give you a lot of information about your students and about their knowledge and skills as well. The subject of this particular portfolio is identity and the posting contains rich detail on which products and artifacts need to be included in the assessment.

To make this assessment accessible for even your learners with more moderate or significant disabilities you might have learners submit fewer samples, write shorter pieces, or create a few alternative assignments for the portfolio.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 8:12 am

    Thanks so much for sharing my identity portfolio! I’ve found that by giving choice in student writing as well as varying the types of assignments, differentiation can easily become a part of daily instruction. Currently, I’m working on digital writing portfolios with my students using Google docs. Portfolios are a great way to show growth over time. I’m thrilled you recognized it as a form of differentiation.

    • March 30, 2011 7:57 am

      Thank YOU, Megan. I hope you won’t mind if we “sample” off of your site again in the near future. We love not only your many teaching ideas but the site itself is beautiful.

      • March 30, 2011 8:55 am

        Sample away, Paula! I appreciate your interest in my work and my site. I’ve added your website to my google reader. I look forward to learning with you through your blog.

Leave a Reply

